« C'était incroyable, vraiment novateur pour moi. Ma seule frustration était: pourquoi personne ne me l’a dit il ya longtemps? »

- 2018 participant

Countertechnique

LE STAGE COUNTERTECHNIQUE ONE BODY ONE CAREER

SE TIENDRA À MONTRÉAL EN 2019!

Springboard s’efforce de se développer constamment pour répondre aux besoins en constante évolution des danseurs d’aujourd’hui, à toutes les étapes de leur carrière. Nous sommes fiers de co-présenter le premier stage de Countertechnique One Body, One Career (Un corps, une carrière; OBOC) à Montréal, qui réunira des participants du monde entier pour explorer la méthode Countertechnique d’Anouk van Dijk, acquérir des compétences inestimables pour leur carrière et établir des liens dans le monde entier. L’OBOC 2019 aura lieu à Montréal du 1er au 12 juillet 2019. Après onze éditions couronnées de succès en Europe et en Australie, l’OBOC s’installe à Montréal du 1er au 12 juillet 2019.

Dix jours de travail complets avec Anouk van Dijk, fondatrice et ancienne directrice artistique de Chunky Move, avec Niharika Senapati, enseignant principal, et Tom Koch, expert en technique d’Alexander Technique, l’OBOC offre une mine d’informations aux participants débutants et avancés.

OBOC Intensive est destiné aux danseurs professionnels et aux étudiants en danse avancés souhaitant poursuivre une carrière saine et fructueuse en danse sur une longue période. Les nouveaux participants acquerront une introduction détaillée aux différents éléments et à la méthodologie Countertechnique, tandis que les participants de retour auront l’occasion d’approfondir et d’élargir leur compréhension. Grâce à la pratique physique, à la théorie, aux présentations et à des ateliers créatifs, les participants acquerront un ensemble d’outils pratiques qu’ils pourront utiliser et appliquer dans leur pratique quotidienne de la danse et au fil des années.

Le stage intensif OBOC Montréal 2019 offrira des cours quotidiens de Countertechnique et des sessions d’outils pratiques. La fondatrice de Countertechnique, Anouk van Dijk, partagera son amour pour l’espace, l’improvisation et le processus de création. Niharika Senapati, professeur principal de Countertechnique, expliquera le répertoire d’Anouk van Dijk pour Chunky Move et les stratégies de performance. Tom Koch présentera son approche spécifique de la technique Alexander pour les danseurs lors de plénières et en séances individuelles. L’intensif se terminera par une présentation commune des différents ateliers.

Chaque OBOC fonctionne dans un cadre intime et n’offre que 55 places. Toutes les éditions précédentes ont attiré un mélange de participants venus du monde entier, notamment d’Amérique du Nord, d’Asie, d’Europe, d’Amérique du Sud, du Moyen-Orient, de Russie, d’Australie et de Nouvelle-Zélande. L’OBOC est non seulement l’occasion ultime de vous immerger dans Countertechnique, mais également un formidable événement pour rencontrer des danseurs, des professeurs et des chorégraphes du monde entier, qui souhaitent poursuivre une longue carrière et qui aiment danser!

DATES

1er au 12 juillet 2019
Du lundi au vendredi de 10h à 18h
Les candidats doivent pouvoir assister à la totalité de la période de deux semaines

FRAIS

Le coût total de l’intensif est de 1 300 $ USD, taxes de 15% comprises. Un droit d’inscription unique de 30 $ USD est requis pour tous les candidats.

  • SPÉCIAL EARLY BIRD
    Les places Early Bird sont disponibles au prix de 1 275 $ USD pour les candidats retenus qui ont soumis leur candidature avant le dimanche 6 janvier 2019.
  • MODE DE PAIEMENT
    Des modes de paiement sont disponibles pour ceux qui souhaitent étaler leur paiement.
  • DELAI
    La date limite pour soumettre votre candidature est minuit HNP le dimanche 27 janvier 2019. Les candidats retenus seront informés au plus tard le 25 février 2019.

COMMENT S’INSCRIRE

Les candidatures sont acceptées jusqu’au dimanche 27 janvier 2019 à minuit, heure normale du Pacifique (PST). Les candidats retenus seront informés au plus tard le lundi 25 février 2019.

En raison du nombre limité de places, les candidats sont invités à soumettre une lettre de motivation personnelle et un CV pour examen, au format PDF, n’excédant pas trois pages. Un démo visionnable en ligne est requis, qui doit inclure des images tournées en studio (improvisation ou chorégraphie). Les applications sont évaluées sur le niveau de danse et la motivation.

Inscrivez-vous ici pour l’édition 2019 One Body, One Career

EMPLACEMENT

OBOC aura lieu aux studios spacieux et lumineux de l’UQAM (Université du Québec à Montréal), situés au centre de Montréal. Tous les participants sont responsables de leur propre logement, mais des options à explorer seront fournies par l’organisation. Le logement à Montréal est extrêmement abordable par rapport aux autres grandes métropoles.

Les artistes

Anouk van Dijk (Amsterdam)

Anouk van Dijk est une chorégraphe, directrice artistique et créatrice du système de mouvement, Countertechnique. Au cours des sept dernières années, elle a été directrice artistique de la célèbre compagnie de danse contemporaine Chunky Move à Melbourne, en Australie..

Anouk van Dijk a passé les dix premières années de sa carrière en tant que soliste pour la Rotterdam Dance Company et la Pretty Ugly Dance Company d’Amanda Miller. Dès le début, elle s’intéresse à la chorégraphie et, à partir de la fin des années 90, elle s’engage exclusivement dans la conception, la création et la performance de son propre travail. En 1998, Van Dijk a fondé sa propre compagnie, anoukvandijk dc, vouée à la création d’œuvres visant à donner un aperçu des nombreuses facettes de l’expérience humaine du point de vue de la danse contemporaine. En 2012, elle a été nommée directrice artistique de la compagnie de danse Chunky Move à Melbourne, en Australie, et a depuis lors créé des productions à grande échelle, parmi lesquelles on retrouve An Act of Now(2012), Complexity of Belonging(2014, with Falk Richter), Depth of Field(2015), Rule of Thirds(2016), Anti—Gravity (2017, with Ho Tzu Nyen) and Common Ground(2018). Elle a également créé des œuvres en collaboration avec le scénariste / réalisateur Falk Richter pour Schaubuehne Berlin, Schauspiel Frankfurt et Düsseldorf Schauspielhaus. Au cours de sa carrière, Anouk van Dijk a créé plus d’une trentaine d’œuvres complètes qui ont été présentées dans les principaux festivals et salles du monde, notamment le Festival d’Avignon, le Festival d’Adélaïde, l’Opéra de Sydney, le Schaubuehne Berlin, le Dance Triennale Tokyo, American Dance Festival, SPRING International Performing Arts Festival and Festival.

+-

Countertechnique est au cœur de la fondation du travail d’Anouk van Dijk et de la formation de ses danseurs. Le système de mouvement van Dijk s’est développé tout au long de sa carrière en tant que danseur, chorégraphe et professeur. Au cours des vingt dernières années, les connaissances et l’expérience qu’elle a acquises – en dialogue constant avec ses danseurs – ont été progressivement transformées en un système théorique détaillé et en une méthode d’enseignement, qui forme désormais la Countertechnique, actuellement enseignée par 32 enseignants du monde entier. Avec Gerald Siegmund, elle a décrit les principes théoriques et l’application pratique de la technique dans la publication Dance Techniques 2010, téléchargeable au format PDF.

À son départ des Pays-Bas en 2012, Anouk van Dijk a reçu le Cygne d’or (Gouden Zwaan), la plus prestigieuse récompense de danse des Pays-Bas, en reconnaissance de sa contribution artistique et universitaire exceptionnelle à la danse dans son pays d’origine. Sa prochaine pièce, Distant Matter, a été commandée par Staatsballet Berlin et sera diffusée début 2019.

Niharika Senapati

Niharika Senapati danse pour Chunky Move depuis 2012 et collabore étroitement avec la directrice artistique Anouk van Dijk en tant que danseuse dans presque toutes ses chorégraphies, notamment An Act of Now(2012), 247 Days(2013), Depth of Field(2015), Rule of Thirds(2016), Anti—Gravity(2017) et Accumulation (2018).Elle a également été assistante chorégraphique pour les deux dernières collaborations d’Anouk van Dijk avec le metteur en scène Falk Richter Complexity of Belonging(2014) and Safe Places(2016). En tant qu’interprète indépendant, Niharika a une longue liste de collaborations créatives, plus récemment dans l’œuvre Trustees du Belarus Free Theatre pour le Malthouse Theatre (2018) et Replay d’Eszter Salamon (2018).

 

En plus de danser, Niharika est un enseignant senior de Countertechnique, enseignant dans le monde entier. Elle a enseigné partout en Australie, aux États-Unis, en Inde et en Allemagne. Niharika est également conceptrice sonore et crée son propre travail en tant que chorégraphe émergente, en présentant IMAGINATION / VACATION (2017), Follow your Dreams (2017) et POSITIVE Renforcement (2018).

Tom Koch

Enseignant certifié de la technique Alexander

Tom Koch a poursuivi ses études de baccalauréat en théâtre avec une mineure en histoire des sciences à l’Université de Missouri-Kansas City. Après avoir obtenu l’autorisation d’enseigner en 1987 à l’American Center for the Alexander Technique de New York, il a été un pionnier dans l’intégration de la technique Alexander au mouvement et à l’éducation du ballet, en particulier pour la résolution des douleurs chroniques et des blessures répétitives. Pendant des années, il a enseigné la technique Alexander à la révolutionnaire compagnie Ballet Frankfurt (plus tard devenu la Forsythe Company). Il a également enseigné des cours de groupe des cours privés au Netherlands Dance Theatre, au Tanztheater Wuppertal (Pina Bausch), au Dutch National Ballet, à la Sydney Dance Company, au Chunky Move, à la Biennale di Venezia College à Danza, à la Codarts University, à L’Artère, au Studio 303, à Henny Jurriëns Studio à Amsterdam et beaucoup d’autres. Pendant douze ans, il collabore avec son ancien élève, Anouk van Dijk, à l’enseignement annuel du programme One Body, One Career Intensive destiné aux danseurs, d’abord à Amsterdam et plus récemment à Melbourne. Son travail ne se limite pas à la danse, il inclut un large éventail d’artistes dans toutes les formes de danse, de musique et de théâtre. Il a également enseigné cette technique à des médecins, des écrivains, des scientifiques, des secrétaires, des architectes et des agents de police. Ces dernières années, sa pratique privée visait principalement à aider les personnes souffrant de douleur chronique à améliorer leurs stratégies de mouvement et de vie. Tom Koch a plus d’informations sur sa pratique sur son site Tomsterdam.

Vous avez des questions?

Comme nous travaillons avec une très petite équipe, nous ne serons pas en mesure de répondre à toutes vos questions individuellement. Pour cette raison, nous avons compilé une page FAQ complète, avec toutes les questions que nous pensions avoir. Assurez-vous de lire attentivement les informations sur cette page pour trouver une réponse à toutes vos questions. Il est de votre responsabilité de connaître toutes les conditions applicables. Dans les rares cas où une question resterait sans réponse, vous pouvez nous envoyer un courrier électronique à l’adresse électronique indiquée au bas de la page FAQ. Nous ne répondrons pas aux questions envoyées via Facebook, Instagram ou dans le formulaire d’inscription.

“This was incredible, truly ground breaking for me. My only frustration was: why didn’t somebody tell me this a long time ago?”

- 2018 participant

Countertechnique

2019 ONE BODY, ONE CAREER COUNTERTECHNIQUE INTENSIVE

COMING TO MONTREAL!

Springboard strives to constantly expand in response to the ever-evolving needs of today’s dancers — at all stages in their career. We are proud to co-present the first One Body, One Career Countertechnique Intensive (OBOC) in Montréal, which will bring together participants from all over the world to delve into Anouk van Dijk’s Countertechnique method, to learn invaluable skills for their career and to build connections around the globe. The 2019 OBOC will take place in Montreal from 1 – 12 July 2019. 

Working for ten full days with Countertechnique Founder and former Chunky Move Artistic Director Anouk van Dijk, Senior Teacher Niharika Senapati and Alexander Technique expert Tom Koch, the OBOC offers a wealth of information to both first time and returning participants.

The OBOC Intensive is for professional dancers and advanced dance students interested in pursuing a long, healthy and successful career in dance. First time participants will gain a detailed introduction to the distinct elements and methodology that form Countertechnique, while returning participants will have the opportunity to deepen and expand their understanding. Through physical practice, theory, discourse and creative workshops, participants will gain a set of practical tools that they will be able to draw from and apply in their daily dance practice and through performance seasons.

The 2019 Montréal OBOC Intensive will offer daily Countertechnique classes and Practical Tools sessions. Countertechnique Founder Anouk van Dijk will share her love for space, improvisation and the creative process. Senior Countertechnique Teacher Niharika Senapati will offer insights in Anouk van Dijk’s repertory for Chunky Move and strategies for performance practice, and Tom Koch will introduce his specific approach of Alexander Technique for dancers in plenary and individual sessions. The intensive will conclude with a shared presentation of the various workshops.

Each OBOC operates in an intimate setting and only offers spots up to 55 participants. All previous editions have drawn a mix of participants from around the world including North America, Asia, Europe, South-America, the Middle East, Russia, Australia and New Zealand. The OBOC is not only the ultimate opportunity to immerse yourself in Countertechnique, but also an amazing event to meet international dancers, teachers and choreographers, who are interested in pursuing long careers and who love dancing!

DATES

1 – 12 July 2019
Monday to Friday, 10:00 am – 6:00 pm
Applicants must be able to attend the full two-week period.

PROGRAM FEES

The full cost for the intensive is $ 1,300 USD, including 15% taxes. A one-time registration fee of $30 USD is required for all applicants.

  • EARLY BIRD SPECIAL
    Early Bird spots are available at a price of $ 1,275 USD to successful applicants who have submitted their application prior to Sunday January 6, 2019.
  • PAYMENT PLANS
    Payment plans are available to those who wish to spread their payment.

HOW TO APPLY

Applications close at midnight PST on Sunday January 27, 2019. Successful applicants will be notified by Monday February 25, 2019 at the latest.

Due to the limited number of places, candidates are asked to submit a personal motivation statement and CV for consideration in PDF format and not exceeding three pages. An additional online dancer reel is required, which should include footage shot in a studio (improvisation or choreography). Applications are assessed on level and motivation.

Register here for the 2019 One Body, One Career Intensive

LOCATION

The OBOC will be held at the spacious and bright studios of UQAM (Université de Québec à Montréal), located in the centre of Montréal. All participants are responsible for arranging their own housing, but options to explore will be provided by the organisation. Housing in Montréal is extremely affordable in comparison to other major metropoles.

WHO’S WHO

Anouk van Dijk

Anouk van Dijk is a choreographer, artistic director and the creator of the movement system, Countertechnique. For the past seven years she has been the Artistic Director of renowned contemporary dance company Chunky Move in Melbourne, Australia.

Anouk van Dijk spent the first ten years of her career as a lead soloist for Rotterdam Dance Company and Amanda Miller’s Pretty Ugly Dance Company. From early on, she was attracted to choreography and from the late nineties committed herself exclusively to the conception, creation and performance of her own work. In 1998, Van Dijk founded her own company, anoukvandijk dc, dedicated to creating work that sought to provide an insight into the many facets of the human experience through the lens of contemporary dance. In 2012, she was appointed Artistic Director of dance company Chunky Move in Melbourne, Australia, and has since then created large scale productions, amongst others An Act of Now (2012), Complexity of Belonging (2014, with Falk Richter), Depth of Field (2015), Rule of Thirds (2016), Anti—Gravity (2017, with Ho Tzu Nyen) and Common Ground (2018). She has also created works in collaboration with writer/director Falk Richter for Schaubuehne Berlin, Schauspiel Frankfurt and Duesseldorf Schauspielhaus. In her career Anouk van Dijk has created more than thirty full-length works that toured to the world’s leading festivals and venues including Festival d’Avignon, Adelaide Festival, Sydney Opera House, Schaubuehne Berlin, Dance Triennale Tokyo, American Dance Festival, SPRING International Performing Arts Festival and Festival.

+-

Central to the foundation of Anouk van Dijk’s work and the training of her dancers has been Countertechnique, the movement system van Dijk developed throughout her career as a dancer, choreographer and teacher. Over the last twenty years, the knowledge and experience she gained – in constant dialogue with her dancers – was gradually transformed into a detailed theoretical system and a teaching method, which now forms Countertechnique, currently taught by 32 teachers worldwide. Together with Gerald Siegmund, she described the theoretical principles and practical application of the technique in the publication Dance Techniques 2010, which can be downloaded as PDF.

Upon her departure from the Netherlands in 2012, Anouk van Dijk was awarded the Golden Swan (Gouden Zwaan) – the Netherlands’ most prestigious dance accolade – in recognition of her outstanding artistic and academic contribution to dance in her home country. Her upcoming work, Distant Matter, has been commissioned by Staatsballet Berlin and will premiere early 2019.

Niharika Senapati

Niharika Senapati has been performing and touring with Chunky Move since 2012, working closely with Artistic Director Anouk van Dijk as a dancer in almost all of her choreographies, most notably An Act of Now (2012), 247 Days (2013), Depth of Field (2015), Rule of Thirds (2016), Anti—Gravity (2017), and Accumulation (2018). She was also Choreographic Assistant for Anouk van Dijk’s two most recent collaborations with theatre director Falk Richter Complexity of Belonging (2014) and Safe Places (2016). As a freelance performer, Niharika has had an extensive list of creative collaborations as a performer, most recently in the work Trustees by the Belarus Free Theatre for Malthouse Theatre (2018) and Replay by Eszter Salamon (2018).

Alongside performing, Niharika is a Senior Countertechnique teacher, teaching extensively around the world. She has taught nationally all throughout Australia, as well as in the USA, India and Germany. Niharika is also a sound designer, and creates her own work as an emerging choreographer, presenting IMAGINATION/VACATION (2017), Follow your Dreams (2017) and POSITIVE Reinforcement (2018).

Tom Koch

Certified Teacher of the Alexander Technique

Tom Koch pursued his Bachelor of Arts in Theater, with a minor study in History of Science, at University of Missouri-Kansas City. After being certified to teach in 1987 by the American Center for the Alexander Technique in New York, he was a pioneer in integrating the Alexander Technique with ballet movement and education, particularly for resolving chronic pain and repetitive injuries. He was for years the Alexander Technique teacher for William Forsythe’s groundbreaking Ballet Frankfurt (later the Forsythe Company). He has also taught group and private lessons for Netherlands Dance Theater, Tanztheater Wuppertal (Pina Bausch), the Dutch National Ballet, Sydney Dance Company, Chunky Move, La Biennale di Venezia College Danza, Codarts University, L’Artère, Studio 303, Henny Jurriëns Studio in Amsterdam, and many others. For twelve years, he has collaborated with his former student Anouk van Dijk to teach the annual One Body, One Career Intensive for dancers, first in Amsterdam and most recently in Melbourne. His work is not limited to dance, but includes a wide range of artists in all forms of dance, music and theater. He also has taught the technique to doctors, writers, scientists, secretaries, architects and police agents. In recent years, his private practice focuses mainly on helping those with chronic pain find improved movement and living strategies. Tom Koch has more information about his practice on his website Tomsterdam.

More Questions?

As we are operating on a very small team, we will be unable to answer all of your questions individually. For that reason, we’ve compiled an extensive FAQ page, with quite literally all the questions we thought you might have. Please make sure to carefully read the information on this page. It’s your responsibility to be aware of all the conditions that apply. In the rare case where a question would go unanswered, you can email us at the email address listed at the bottom of the FAQ page. Questions sent via Facebook, Instagram or the registration form will go unanswered.